• Welcome

    In the Hot Spot has information and inspiration for people who want to live their dream. Created by, Annabel Candy, who's living her dream in Noosa, Australia, it will help you live YOUR dream too.

    Dip in, dare to dream and enjoy the journey.

    Find out more in the about section.
  • Topics

  • © Annabel Candy and In the Hot Spot, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Annabel Candy and In the Hot Spot with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
  • May 2009
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Give Fear the Finger and Feel Fine

Inspiration for Overcoming Fear

OK, I confess, when it comes to giving fear the finger it’s not all plain sailing. When people ask me what I do, I want to tell them I’m a writer, but often I chicken out.

“I’m doing some writing at the moment.” I’ll say, looking shifty. So I’m definitely still battling that fear of failure, the fear of ridicule.

Celebrate Your Successes

In other aspects of my life fear has been easier to overcome:

> I moved to Zimbabwe, New Zealand, Laos and Panama when I’d never even visited those countries before.
> I studied interactive media when I hardly knew how to use a computer.
> I insisted on a home birth with my second child even though the first one was born by emergency caesarian and weighed in at 10lb 12oz (Ouch).
> Then I had a home birth with my third child even though my second baby weighed 11lb 1oz (Not sure if that’s brave or just plain mad).
> More recently, I learned to surf at 40 (I may be the world’s worst surfer, still, I have fun.)

But being and saying I’m a writer is much scarier than all of those. Maybe the fear is strongest for the things you want most. But my greatest fear of all though is of regrets, of dying without having achieved my dreams or even trying to tackle them.

I’m glad I gave fear the finger – I’ve so much happier now.

Thanks for reading, feel free to tell me your dreams, fears and inspirations. I dare you to join me in the hot spot.

Good luck with all your plans!